Wednesday, March 14, 2018

Surname Society Conference 2018 is Saturday, 17 March

I joined the Surname Society ( last year, and volunteered to do a presentation at the 2018 Conference 2018.  That is coming on Saturday, 17 March 2018.

What is the Surname Society?  The website says:

"Founded by six experienced genealogists from all corners of the globe, The Surname Society was launched in November 2014 to offer an innovative, collaborative, modern approach to the world of surname studies.

"In the last few decades, researching family history has become a much more popular pastime, made easier by the availability of records online. It is important for a 21st century society to appreciate these changes, offer appropriate facilities to its members and adapt these services as the genealogical world evolves.
"Recent technological advances allow researchers anywhere in the world to collaborate, share the results of their surname research and to present their work online to a wider audience. Many events, educational presentations, conferences and seminars are now delivered online live or available for later viewing. As an online-only society, The Surname Society leverages these modern technologies to deliver modern services to its members.
"Membership of the society is not restricted to individuals and is open to societies, associations and other groups researching surnames (e.g. DNA, etymologists and academia) anywhere in the world. Members need not be experienced researchers as the society and its members offer support, advice and encouragement for those wishing to engage in this particular form of research. These aims are delivered via the Forum, Newsletter (The Surname Scribbler), chat rooms, collaborative surname pages, monthly educational Google+ Hangouts, YouTube videos and as the society evolves, more membership benefits will be developed."
So I joined for 5 pounds via Paypal, and have enjoyed reading the quarterly newsletter and browsing the website.
Now the Conference 2018 is coming up, and the presentation schedule is:
*  3 p.m. GMT (11 a.m. EDT, 8 a.m. PDT):  Start and Open of Conference
*  3:10 p.m. GMT (11:10 a.m. EDT,  8:10 a.m. PDT):  Michelle Leonard on "DNA is Dynamite: How to Ignite Your Ancestral Research"
*  4 p.m. GMT (12 noon EDT, 9 a.m. PDT):  John Boeren on "Dutch Records"
*  5 p.m. GMT:  Break
*  5:30 p.m. GMT (1:30 p.m. EDT, 120:30 a.m. PDT):  Marie Cappart on "Belgian Records"
* 6:30 p.m.GMT (2:30 p.m. EDT, 11:30 a.m. PDT):  Annual General Meeting
*  7 p.m.:  Break
*   7:30 p.m. GMT (3:30 p.m. EDT, 12:30 p.m. PDT):  Randy Seaver on "Using FamilySearch Digital Microfilm to Find Genealogical Records"
*  8:30 p.m. GMT (4:30 p.m. EDT, 1:30 p.m. PDT):   Kirsty F. Wilkinson on "Researching Scottish Ancestors Using Ancestry"
So if you want to view this "FREE to Members" Conference, you need to sign up - it's only 5 pounds! - as soon as possible.  You can watch the sessions live on Saturday, or view them after the conference at your own leisure.
Join the Surname Society at

Copyright (c) 2018, Randall J. Seaver

Please comment on this post on the website by clicking the URL above and then the "Comments" link at the bottom of each post.  Share it on Twitter, Facebook, Google+ or Pinterest using the icons below.  Or contact me by email at

No comments: