Friday, July 8, 2011

This Weekend's Genealogy Internet Radio Shows

There are two genealogy oriented Internet Radio shows this weekend.  If you want to learn more about genealogy education opportunities and genealogy societies, I suggest that you tune in to:

1)  Geneabloggers Radio (Friday evening, 10 p.m. EDT, 9 p.m. CDT, 8 p.m. MDT, 7 p.m. PDT, 90 minutes) on  This is hosted by Thomas MacEntee, and the topic is "Don't Know Much About Genealogy Education?"  Featured guests will be:

*  Lee Maxey, of the Boston University Center for Professional Education,
*  Elissa Scalise Powell of the Genealogy Research Institute of Pittsburgh (GRIP)
*  Linda-Rae Palmer discussing the University of Washington Continuing Education Certificate Program in Genealogy & Family History.

See the Show Notes with more detail at GeneaBloggers Radio – Show Notes for Friday, July 8, 2011.

2)  My Society Radio (Saturday, 2 p.m. EDT, 1 p.m. CDT, 12 noon MDT, 11 a.m. PDT), 60 minutes) on www.BlogTalkRadio/.com/mysociety/.  This show will be hosted by Thomas MacEntee, and the topic is "Selecting and Hiring a Genealogy Speaker."  The featured guest will be:

*  Jean Wilcox Hibben, a member of the National Genealogical Society (NGS), the Genealogical Speakers Guild (where she serves as secretary), various societies in the areas where she does research, the Association of Professional Genealogists (serving as president of the Southern California Chapter), and the Corona (CA) Genealogical Society (where she serves as president).

See the Show notes with more detail at FGS Radio - Selecting and Hiring a Genealogy Speaker.

You can listen to Blog Talk Radio without registering.  However, if you register then you can sign in and participate in the Chat Board with other users during the radio show.  If you go to the Geneabloggers Radio or the MySociety Radio pages, you can listen to previous shows (but can't see the Chat board).

I will listen to the GeneaBloggers Radio show tonight, but will miss the My Society show on Saturday (due to the SDGS meeting).  I'll try to catch it later.

The URL of this post is:

(c) 2011. Randall J. Seaver. All Rights Reserved. If you wish to re-publish my content, please contact me for permission, which I will usually grant. If you are reading this on any other genealogy website (other than through an RSS feed), then they have stolen my work.

No comments: