Friday, October 7, 2011

Follow Friday - Weekend Genealogy Fun

Here are my recommendations for some Genealogy Fun this weekend:

1) Listen to Geneabloggers Radio tonight (Friday night, 10 p.m. ET, 9 p.m. CT, 8 p.m. MT and 7 p.m. PT) hosted by Angela Walton-Raji. This week's topic is "Ethnic Genealogy." The special guests include:

* Linda Geiger CG℠, CGL℠ who will discuss Native American research
*  Lisa B. Lee, PLCGS who will help us learn more about Black Canadian research.

2) Listen to the FGS Radio - My Society show on Saturday (2 p.m. ET, 1 p.m. CT, 12 noon MT, 11 a.m. PT) hosted by Drew Smith this week. The topic is "Focus on Genealogy Society Bylaws." 
The special guests are:

*   Robert a“Bobbi” King will join us as we review issues involved with society bylaws and ways to use them to strengthen your organization.
*  In addition, we’ll be highlighting the Anchorage Genealogical Society in our weekly Society Spotlight feature.

3) Check out the recent Webinars on:

* Researching Your Connecticut Ancestors. by Marian Pierre-Louis (free until 3 October 2011)
* Exploring and by their founder, Paul Allen.
* "Newspapers for Genealogists: Using to document every day of your ancestors' lives" with Tom Kemp.
* "Organizng for Success" with Karen Clifford (available free indefinitely from Legacy Family Tree)
* "The Power of DNA in Unlocking Family Relationships," with Ugo Perugo (available indefinitely from Legacy Family Tree)
* "Leveraging the Power of "We": a Watershed Event in Discovering Where to Find Your Ancestors (Research Wiki, Research Courses, and FamilySearch Forums)," with Michael Ritchey (available from Legacy Family Tree).

* RootsMagic Webinars (all free) available at

* National Genealogical Society (NGS) Videos (some are free to view) at

* Thomas MacEntee's Explorinar on Easy Website Creation (free to view).
* Thomas MacEntee's Explorinar on Evernote - Easy Note Taking UPDATED (free to view)

4) Respond to my Saturday Night Genealogy Fun challenge, posted on soon after 12 noon Pacific time (that's 1900 GMT for those who understand time zones).

5) Go to a local genealogical society program.  I'm going to the San Diego Genealogical Society program on Saturday morning, featuring Linda Serna, and then going to the Chula Vista Genealogical Society workshop in Bonita in the afternoon.

6) Go to a local or close repository with genealogy and family history material. Do some research in traditional resources or order FamilySearch microfilms online with original source records.

7) do some online research in the latest record collections at FamilySearch (free,, Ancestry ($$,, Fold3 ($$,, WorldVitalRecords ($$,, American Ancestors ($$,, GenealogyBank ($$,, etc.

8) Add material (names, dates, places, notes, images, sources, etc.) to your genealogy software program. I still have three inches of paper collected from my vacation, and will try to enter some of it into my database this weekend.

9) Spend time with your family doing fun things.  Linda and I are going to a wedding on Saturday evening.

10) Go to a local cemetery and clean stones, take gravestone pictures, or transcribe epitaphs for your local society, for Find-a-Grave, or a similar online service.

Whatever you decide, please tell us about your genealogy endeavors on a social network or in a blog post. You never know when your experiences may stimulate or encourage others to do useful genealogy work.

1 comment:

Ravenswick said...

My favorite "fun genealogy activity" for the weekends are to visit cemeteries. Even though it poured down rain last weekend we still made a cemetery visit--although a bit shorter than usual.