Wednesday, May 25, 2011

Genealogy Shows on BlogTalkRadio Flourish

...
Are you listening to genealogy shows on BlogTalkRadio (www.blogtalkradio.com)?  If not, you should think about participating - it's fun and educational.  The current weekly genealogy radio programs include:

1)  Geneabloggers Radio, usually hosted by Thomas MacEntee.  It airs on Friday nights for 90 minutes - starting at 10 PM Eastern, 9 PM Central, 8 PM Mountain and 7 PM Pacific.  There have been 20 programs already, and they can be heard from the archives at www.blogtalkradio.com/geneabloggers

2)  MySociety Radio, hosted by persons active in the Federation of Genealogical Societies (FGS).  It airs on Saturdays, at 2 PM Eastern, 1 PM Central, 12 noon Mountain and 11 AM Pacific.  There have been five programs to date, and they can be heard from the archives at www.blogtalkradio.com/mysociety.

Both radio programs have a central theme for each program, and one or more guests that discuss the theme with the host.  For instance, the 21 May episode of MySociety radio was "Bringing Technology to Your Genealogical Society," hosted by the Genealogy Guys (Drew Smith and George G. Morgan)with special guest Paula Hinkel, the co-chair of the Southern California Genealogical Society Jambioree. 

The 20 May episode of "Embracing Technology: Where to Turn Next?" hosted by DearMYRTLE, with special guests Tami Glatz of the Relatively Curious About Genealogy blog, Bruce Buzbee of RootsMagic, and Earl Mott of SharingTime & Noah Tutak of Geni discussing AncestorSync.

To listen to the shows live, a listener can go to the sites above and listen.  The hosts usually take phone calls from listeners, and often have door prizes for listeners to win.  If you want to participate in the online text-only chats during the program, you must sign into BlogTalkRadio - it's free to register, and you can use your Facebook or Twitter account identity.  You can download a program to your computer also and transfer it to your MP3 player, or share it with friends or colleagues.

These shows are an excellent way to "connect" with geneabloggers, society leaders, and genealogists hungry for information on the subjects discussed.  The text-only chat room is a lot of fun - the chatters discuss the topic, ask questions for the host to ask of the guests, and sometimes go off on tangents that are off-the-wall.  It's all friendly and fun. 

Come join us!  And if you cannot make it for the live show, you can catch up by visiting the show archives and listening to a show of your choice (you don't get the chat room fun, of course!).  The MySociety shows may be excellent content for genealogical societies that are trying to improve their technology content.

1 comment:

Deborah Andrew said...

Randy,

Here is one more radio program that I stumbled across the other day. It is also on BlogTalkRadio and is done by Jane E Wilcox. The url is http://www.blogtalkradio.com/janeewilcox

From the one show that I listened to so far, I noticed she doesn't take callers as Thomas does for Geneabloggers radio. But the show was very informative about the topic it covered, Mohonk Mountain House.

She also have a website at http://www.4getmenotancestry.com/

I don't have any connection to Jane but thought you might want to add this show to your list. I know I have added it to mine and don't know where I will find the time to listen to all of these wonderful podcasts through out the week. Oh, what a dilemma. ;)