Friday, July 22, 2011

Follow Friday - Weekend Genealogy Fun

Here are my choices for Genealogy Fun this weekend:

1) Listen to Geneabloggers Radio tonight (Friday night, 10 p.m. ET, 9 p.m. CT, 8 p.m. MT and 7 p.m. PT) hosted by Thomas MacEntee. The topic is "Until We Meet Again! – Family Reunions and Genealogy" The guests are:

Edith Wagner, founder, publisher and editor of Reunions magazine and;
Marilyn Stewart, better known as “Aunt Mo” who runs the Family Reunion Helper website;
Lorine McGinnis Schulze of the Olive Tree Genealogy Website.

2) Listen to the FGS My Society radio show on Saturday (2 p.m. ET, 1 p.m. CT, 12 noon MT, 11 a.m. PT) hosted by Thomas MacEnteeh. The topic is "The Doctor Is In – Solving Your Genealogy Society Problems." The guests include:

Thomas MacEntee will be focusing on current issues and problems that genealogy societies are facing. While Thomas won’t have all the answers, we know the My Society listeners and those on the chat board will come through with some great ideas in the true spirit of problem-solving and collaboration.
 FGS 2011 Conference Speaker of the Week, Linda Geiger, about her upcoming presentations at the conference in Springfield, Illinois this September.

3) Check out the recent Webinars on:

* "Google Images and Beyond," with Maureen Taylor (available free until 1 August from Legacy Family Tree)
* "The Power of DNA in Unlocking Family Relationships," with Ugo Perugo (available indefintely from Legacy Family Tree)
* "Leveraging the Power of "We": a Watershed Event in Discovering Where to Find Your Ancestors (Research Wiki, Research Courses, and FamilySearch Forums)," with Mitchell Ritchey (available from Legacy Family Tree).
* RootsMagic Webinars (all free) available at
* National Genealogical Society (NGS) Videos (free to view) at
Utah Genealogical Association Virtual Chapter Videos (free until 1 August 2011) at

4) Respond to my Saturday Night Genealogy Fun challenge, posted on soon after 12 noon Pacific time (that's 1900 GMT for those who understand time zones).

5) Go to a local genealogical society program, or go to a library or repository with genealogical resources.  I wish I could go out on Saturday, but the granddaughters are here for Grandma and Grandpa Camp, so I'm working ion family history instead.

6) Do you still have material in your "genealogy piles" that needs to be added to your genealogy software program? I do, and don't have any hope to work on it this weekend.  But you can go for it if that floats your genealogy boat!

6) Enjoy your family! We have our daughter's family here - two wonderful little girls (ages 3 and 6) ave been here all week while their parents take an Alaskan cruise.

No comments: