Friday, September 30, 2011

Follow Friday - Weekend Genealogy Fun

Here are my recommendations for some Genealogy Fun this weekend:

1) Listen to Geneabloggers Radio tonight (Friday night, 10 p.m. ET, 9 p.m. CT, 8 p.m. MT and 7 p.m. PT) hosted by DearMYRTLE. This week's topic is "Digging Deeper: Dealing with Conflicting Genealogy Evidence." The special guests include:

* Barbara Mathews, CG℠ certified genealogist and author of The Demanding Genealogist blog;
*  Accredited genealogist and Family History Library employee Claire V. Brisson-Banks, BS, MLIS, AG® of Timeless Genealogies, and
*  Certified genealogist Michael Hait, CG℠ of Hait Family Research

These experts will help us understand the role of conflicting evidence in genealogy research.

2) Listen to the FGS Radio - My Society show on Saturday (2 p.m. ET, 1 p.m. CT, 12 noon MT, 11 a.m. PT) hosted by Randy Whited this week. The topic is "State Society Panel Discussion – Issues and Projects."
The special guests are:

*   Harry Ross, President of the Colorado Council of Genealogical Societies
*  Joyce Homan, Associate Director of The Genealogical Society of Pennsylvania.
*  We’ll be highlighting The Friends of the Bohemian National Cemetery in our weekly Society Spotlight feature.

3) Check out the recent Webinars on:

* Researching Your Connecticut Ancestors. by Marian Pierre-Louis (free until 3 October 2011)
* Exploring and by their founder, Paul Allen.
* "Newspapers for Genealogists: Using to document every day of your ancestors' lives" with Tom Kemp.
* "Organizng for Success" with Karen Clifford (available free indefinitely from Legacy Family Tree)
* "The Power of DNA in Unlocking Family Relationships," with Ugo Perugo (available indefinitely from Legacy Family Tree)
* "Leveraging the Power of "We": a Watershed Event in Discovering Where to Find Your Ancestors (Research Wiki, Research Courses, and FamilySearch Forums)," with Michael Ritchey (available from Legacy Family Tree).

* RootsMagic Webinars (all free) available at

* National Genealogical Society (NGS) Videos (some are free to view) at

* Thomas MacEntee's Explorinar on Easy Website Creation (free to view).
* Thomas MacEntee's Explorinar on Evernote - Easy Note Taking UPDATED (free to view)

4) Respond to my Saturday Night Genealogy Fun challenge, posted on soon after 12 noon Pacific time (that's 1900 GMT for those who understand time zones).

5) Go to a local genealogical society program. Unfortunately, there is no San Diego area presentation scheduled. 

6) Go to a local or close repository with genealogy and family history material. Do some research in traditional resources or order FamilySearch microfilms online with original source records.

7) do some online research in the latest record collections at FamilySearch (free,, Ancestry ($$,, Fold3 ($$,, WorldVitalRecords ($$,, American Ancestors ($$,, GenealogyBank ($$,, etc.

8) Add material (names, dates, places, notes, images, sources, etc.) to your genealogy software program. I still have three inches of paper collected from my vacation, and will try to enter some of it into my database this weekend.

9) Spend time with your family doing fun things.  Linda's brother, Paul, and his partner Deb are flying in on Saturday for the weekend.  We will do some sightseeing, talk about family and share family stories, and introduce Paul and Deb to their grand-nieces. 

10) Go to a local cemetery and clean stones, take gravestone pictures, or transcribe epitaphs for your local society, for Find-a-Grave, or a similar online service.

Whatever you decide, please tell us about your genealogy endeavors on a social network or in a blog post. You never know when your experiences may stimulate or encourage others to do useful genealogy work.

No comments: