Tuesday, July 16, 2013

This Week's Genealogical Eclectica - 16 July 2013

This week's collection of genealogical eclectica includes:

1)  The July 2013 of The In-Depth Genealogist magazine is out - read it online at http://www.theindepthgenealogist.com/?page_id=6086.  70 pages of excellent genealogy writing, and it's FREE to read and download:

2)  The Federation of Genealogical Societies (FGS) announced a new webinar focusing on the use of military records in genealogical research.  J. Mark Lowe will present "Discovering Local and State Militia Records" on Tuesday, 16 July 2013, at 8 pm Eastern, 5 pm Pacific, 0000 GMT (17 July).  This webinar is FREE and open to the public  You can register at  https://www3.gotomeeting.com/register/934226718

3)  This week's Legacy Family Tree Webinar is "Research in the Old Line State: An Overview of Maryland genealogy" by presenter Michael Hait.  The date is Wednesday, 17 July 2013, 2 pm Eastern, 11 am Pacific, 1800 GMT.  You can register (for free) at https://www3.gotomeeting.com/register/611901414.

4)  The Utah Genealogical Association Virtual Chapter is hosting a FREE webinar - "Can I Use That In My Genealogy? What YOU Should Know About copyright" presented by Thomas MacEntee, on Thursday, 18 July 2013, at 9 pm Eastern, 6 pm Pacific, 0100 GMT (on 19 July).  You can register at https://www4.gotomeeting.com/register/584591559.

5)  Another Legacy Family Tree Webinar is "Top Ten Techniques for Finding More in Library Catalogs" by presenter Barbara Renick.  The date is Friday, 19 July, at 2 pm Eastern, 11 am Pacific, 1800 GMT.  You can register for free at https://www3.gotomeeting.com/register/169310278

6)  Elizabeth Lapointe's weekly Canadian Week in Review 15 July 2013 post has some interesting stories andl inks.

7)  Mick Southwick's weekly British and Irish Genealogy News blog post always has useful links and tips - see Genealogy News - 16th July.

8)  The FamilySearch Family Tree Guide has been updated - read it or download it at http://broadcast.lds.org/eLearning/fhd/Community/en/FamilySearch/FamilyTree/pdf/familyTreeUserGuide.pdf.

9)  This week's "Mondays With Myrt" (watch on http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CxXTg15LxWE) discussed the upcoming Who Do You Think You Are? episode, the Evidence! Explained website, genealogy software, cloud technology, Mastering Genealogical Proof, and more.

10)  This weeks' "DearMYRTLE's Mastering Genealogical Proof Study Group" (watch on http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=py1gt6It4IM) discussed Chapter 3 of the book, and discussed some of the homework assignments.

The URL for this post is:  http://www.geneamusings.com/2013/07/this-weeks-genealogical-eclectica-16.html

copyright (c) 2013, Randall J. Seaver

1 comment:

Terri O'Connell said...

Thanks for the shout out for IDG, we greatly appreciate you sharing the magazine with your readers.