Tuesday, August 6, 2013

Genealogical Eclectica for Tuesday, 6 August

This week's collection of genealogical eclectica includes:

1)  This week's WDYTYA? episode features Chelsea Handler (Tuesday, 6 August, 9 p.m. EDT/MDT/PDT, 8 p.m. CDT).  You'll be able to watch it online on the WDYTYA TLC webpage  a day or two after the episode is shown.

2)  Did you watch the Christina Applegate episode on Who Do You Think You Are? last week?  It's available on the TLC webpage at http://www.tlc.com/tv-shows/who-do-you-think-you-are/videos/christina-applegate-.htm.

3)  Have you read the latest Evidence Explained QuickLesson #17 by Elizabeth Shown Mills on her Evidence Explained website?  The title is:  "The Evidence Analysis Process Map." and she uses several research examples to illustrate the finer points.

4)  The Council for the Advancement of Forensic Genealogy has published Volume 3, Number 4 of their online journal, Forensic Genealogy News.   You can read, and download, all of the issues of this publication here.

5)  DearMYRTLE's Mastering Genealogical Proof Study Group Hangout On Air (on YouTube at http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V82GrJbChbQ) discusses Chapter 6 in the Thomas w. Jones book.

6)  This week's Legacy Family Tree Webinar is on Wednesday, 7 August, at 2 p.m. EDT/1 p.m. CDT/12 noon MDT/11 a.m. PDT.  Marian Pierre-Louis will present "Captured For All Time: Recording Family Voices to Preserve and Pass Down."  Register at http://familytreewebinars.com/webinar_details.php?webinar_id=169.

7)  Marian Pierre-Louis has a weekly online Blog Talk Radio show called Fieldstone Common (and a blog with that name too).  Her show on Thursday, 8 August at 1 p.m. EDT (12 noon CDT, 11 a.m. MDT, 10 a.m. PDT) interviews author Roger Thompson about his book "From Deference to Defiance."  The radio shows are archived and can be heard for free at any time.

8)  The Canadian Week in Review 05 August 2013 post by Elizabeth Lapointe on the Genealogy Canada blog highlights websites, blogs, newspaper articles and other items that interest her.

9)  Mick Southwick's British and Irish Genealogy blog post, Genealogy News - 3rd August, highlights recent information about British and Irish genealogy websites.

10)  Jen Baldwin is hosting a weekly Who Do You Think You Are? "After The Show" discussion about the show on the InDepthGen YouTube Channel - watch last week's discussion with Gena Ortega, Michael Hait, and DearMYRTLE.

11)  The writer of the I Do Genealogy blog has a ten part series (to date) on getting organized - she doesn't have a complete list of them in one place though - you have to go post by post.  The Step 10 post is here, and you can work your way back in time to find them all.

12)  A genealogy funny for my readers (and so that there's a graphic when this post is published):

The URL for this post is:  http://www.geneamusings.com/2013/08/genealogical-eclectica-for-tuesday-6.html

copyright (c) 2013, Randall J. Seaver

1 comment:

Elizabeth Lapointe said...

Thanks Randy for the mention.

just a note - the 1921 Canada Census may be released today or tomorrow. I will post the news when it becomes official.