Tuesday, June 25, 2013

Eclectica Tuesday Genealogy Findings

I receive blog posts and other items in Google Reader, email, Facebook, Twitter, Google+ and some of them have links of interest.  Here are some of the "genealogical eclectica" that's recently crossed my desk - news I want you to know about:

*  Did you catch the Mastering Genealogical Proof Study Group Hangout on Air (on YouTube), hosted by DearMYRTLE on Sunday, 23 June?  This HOA discussed Chapter 2 of the Thomas W. Jones book.  You can watch it at http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9wpmLKpTTZM (go full screen) or below:

*  Thomas W. Jones, author of Mastering Genealogical Proof, was interviewed on Jane E. Wilcox's "Forget-Me-Not Hour" BlogTalkRadio show - hear it at http://www.blogtalkradio.com/janeewilcox/2013/06/20/mastering-genealogical-proof-with-thomas-w-jones

*  The next Legacy Family Tree Webinar is Wednesday, 26 June 2013, at 2 p.m. EDT (11 a.m. PDT, 6 p.m. GMT), and features Judy G. Russell presenting "How Knowing the Law Makes Us Better Genealogists."   You need to register and receive confirmation.  If you miss it live, you can watch this webinar for Free for one week in the Archived webinar section of the website.

*  RootsMagic will demonstrate the interaction of RootsMagic 6 with the FamilySearch Family Tree, including sharing sources between the two systems, in a free webinar on Wednesday, 26 June  2013 at 7 p.m. EDT (4 p.m. PDT, 11 p.m. GMT).  Register at https://www3.gotomeeting.com/register/769710494.

*  Elisabeth LaPointe is running a Contest - Your Canadian Brick Walls on her Genealogy Canada blog.  You do have to qualify, but the prize is four chances for free genealogy consultation on a Canadian brick wall problem of your choosing.  I'm teeing up my Sarah Sephrona Fletcher problem!

*  What blog reader are you using now?  As most people know, Google Reader is disappearing on June 30th.  I've decided on Feedly (http://cloud.feedly.com/) - it works similar to Google Reader, and can import your Google Reader subscriptions if you activate it before June 30th.  There are several YouTube videos available on how to use Feedly - see a list here.  There is a Feedly app for iOS and Android devices.

*  My San Diego Genealogical Society colleague, Del Ritchhart, has started writing a genealogy blog.  Read Del's Genealogy Ramblings at http://delram.blogspot.com/.

*  Family Roots Publishing announced the first nine books of Name List Research Guides (in published book or PDF eBook format) for states Alabama through District of Columbia - see 9 New Dollarhide Research Guides (AL – DC) Now Available at Introductory Prices with FREE PDF eBook & Nearly 50% Savings!  These will probably be very helpful.  However, they will need regular updates!

*  I was on the panel for the 24 June 2013 Mondays With Myrt Hangout on Air.  The panel discussed many topics, including paper and digital file organization, source citations, the proof standard, and other interests.  You can watch the HOA on YouTube at http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tiBENa2IFXM or below:

The video starts at about the 34 second mark for some reason.

The URL for this post is:  http://www.geneamusings.com/2013/06/eclectica-tuesday-genealogy-findings.html

Copyright (c) 2013, Randall J. Seaver

No comments: