Saturday, August 21, 2021

Saturday Night Genealogy Fun -- Tell Your Life Story in Two (or Even Five) Minutes

 Calling all Genea-Musings Fans: 

 It's Saturday Night again - 

time for some more Genealogy Fun!!

Here is your assignment if you choose to play along (cue the Mission Impossible music):

1)  Everyone has a life story, and mine is still ongoing.  Tell us your life story - start with today and go back to your birth.  Do it in 200 to 500 words so you could tell it in two to five minutes.

2)  Tell us in your own blog post, in a comment to this blog post, or on Facebook.  Be sure to leave a comment with a link to your blog post on this post.

Here's mine:

My name is Randall Jeffrey Seaver, and I am currently 77 years old.  I live in Chula Vista, California, and am married to Linda (for 51+ years).  She currently is a resident of a memory care facility in Chula Vista after a fall and broken hip in June.  I visit her every day for up to an hour.  We have two daughters, and five grandchildren, but they live in Orange County (100 miles away) and Santa Cruz (500 miles away) and visit occasionally.  

My daily activities are genealogy and family history research (6 to 10 hours a day), watching San Diego Padres baseball games in the MLB season, watching San Diego/L.A. Chargers games in the NFL season, eating, and trying to sleep 7 hours a day (often not succeeding).  I started my genealogy blogging "career" in 2006.

I retired from aerospace engineering in 2006, after 40 years of work as an engineer, supervisor, manager and staff engineer.  My specialties were aerodynamics analysis, including computational fluid dynamics, and turbofan engine performance analysis and testing.  I spent 37 of those years at Rohr Industries in Chula Vista, and traveled around the world on company business.  

My formal education started at Brooklyn Elementary School in San Diego in 1948, then Theodore Roosevelt Junior High, and San Diego High School, graduating in June 1961.  I attended San Diego State University as an aerospace engineering major, graduating in January 1966.  While at Rohr, I attended a post-graduate management course - Executive Perspective for Scientists and Engineers (EPSE) - at University of California San Diego in 1988.  

I was born in 1943 in National City, California, the first child of Frederick Walton and Betty Virginia (Carringer) Seaver.  Fred was born in Massachusetts to Frederick Walton and Alma Bessie (Richmond) Seaver, and Betty was born in 1919 in San Diego to Lyle Lawrence and Emily Kemp (Auble) Carringer.  I met my paternal grandmother once, and lived close by my maternal grandparents up until 1951.  The first home that I remember is 2119 30th Street in San Diego, a second floor apartment in the house that Lyle's parents built in the 1890s.  

The highlight of my life is my marriage with Linda.  We married on 21 March 1970 in Chula Vista in the Presbyterian Church we still attend.  We had two daughters born in 1974 and 1976.  We traveled quite a bit all through our married life - first to vacation spots, then family vacations with our children, then genealogy trips, conferences and cruises.  The girls did well in school, played softball (and I coached!), went to college, work hard, married, and have children and homes of their own.  The five grandchildren are precious to us - jewels in the crown, so to speak - and there is so much love, energy, and promise in them.  

That's the story of my life so far!  Ding - ding - ding - my five minutes are up!


The URL for this post is:

Copyright (c) 2021, Randall J. Seaver

Please comment on this post on the website by clicking the URL above and then the "Comments" link at the bottom of each post.  Share it on Twitter, Facebook, or Pinterest using the icons below.  Or contact me by email at


Seeds to Tree said...

What a nice idea! I grew up in Elmhurst, Illinois, a suburb near Chicago. My parents were wonderful and I've fortunate my mother is stilling living on her own. I was the oldest, having a sister, and a brother. My dad came from Luxembourg with his parents after WWII and he met my mom (American) just a few months later. When I look back, I realize that our household was different, for one thing we ate vegetables like artichoke hearts. Instead of canning, my parents made and froze pettifors. I graduated in Business and Economics from the University of Illinois. A few years later I met my wonderful husband, Fred, and we've been married for more than 40 years. He is from Buffalo, NY, Purdue graduate and worked as an engineer, same place 40 years. We have three children, two son-in-laws and six grandchildren, all who are blessings. I've always worked, first as an insurance underwriter, then church secretary and bookkeeper, next school secretary for almost 20 years. Retired a few years ago. I've been traveling to Europe since I was 12 years old, to visit all my relatives on my father's side, and still stay in touch, sometimes with their children or grandchildren. I'm a pretty good French speaker and translate documents, although there's few people to talk with now. I've always been interested in Genealogy, but really started when my dad died, and I inherited a little money for our first new (not handmedown) computer and familytreemaker database. I love presenting classes and I volunteer at a large genealogy room. I work part time at our church which I really enjoy too. My husband works for the Chicago Cubs now, so we are big fans. He loves sports and I enjoy them too. We are lucky. He's interested in my hobby, and I'm interested in his. Buffalo Bills, Chicago Bears, Chicago Blackhawks all are among teams we follow. Okay - time is up!

Lisa S. Gorrell said...

Here is mine.

Janice M. Sellers said...

I may have gone over my five-minute limit.

ByAPearl said...

Here the link to my post.