Tuesday, August 20, 2013

This Week's Genealogy Eclectica for Tuesday, 20 August 2013

This weeks collection of genealogical eclectica for those that can't get enough...

1)  Did you watch last week's Who Do You Think You Are? episode featuring Zooey Deschanel?  I Did, and if you missed it you can watch it on the TLC website here.

2)  This week's WDYTYA? episode features Chris O'Donnell, who presently stars on NCIS.  It will be broadcast tonight, Tuesday, 20 August, on the TLC Network (www.tlc.com) at 9 p.m. EDT, 8 p.m. CDT, 9 p.m. MDT, and 9 p.m. PDT.

3)  The July edition of The In-Depth Genealogy Magazine was published - go to http://issuu.com/indepthgen/docs/2013-08-15-idg_goingindepth/1?e=7351613/4421196 to read it.

4)  Listen to the catchy hit song "I Think I Hear a Woodpecker Knocking at My Family Tree" by Edward M. Favor, from 1909 - audio at http://www.abmp3.info/mp3/i-think-hear-a-woodpecker-knocking-at-my-family-tree.html.  Thomas Jay Kemp showed the lyrics and songsheet in http://blog.genealogybank.com/genealogy-song-i-think-i-hear-a-woodpecker-knocking-at-my-family-tree.html.  Funny!

5)  A large set of Canadian family history and genealogy books were added to www.FindMyPast.com last week - see the announcement and the list in NEW RECORDS: Findmypast.com Collections Head North with Debut of Canadian Books.

6)  D. Joshua Taylor of FindMyPast/brightsolid and the FGS President held an online chat last week on Reddit - you can read the transcripts here and here.  There were two threads of comments and answers, apparently.

7)  MyHeritage announced their global initiative "Treasure Family Photos" and claims to have the world's largest international collection of "old family photos" - over 200 million of them.

8)  Elizabeth Lapointe's Canadian Week In Review - 19 August 2013 post highlights newly found blogs, websites, databases and newspaper articles.

9)  This week's Legacy Family Tree webinar is:  "Do More With Your Photos With Templates From Heritage Collector Software" presented by Kathleen Bitter.  It will be on Wednesday, 21 August, at 2 p.m. EDT, 1 p.m. CDT, 12 noon MDT, 11 a.m. PDT, 1800 GMT.  You need to pre-register for this free webinar.

10)  MyHeritage has a webinar on Wednesday, 21 August (2 p.m. EDT, 1 p.m. CDT, 12 noon PDT, 11 a.m. PDT, 1800 GMT) featuring Maureen Taylor on "Family Photos: Uncovering Stories."  You need to pre-register for this free webinar.

11)  Marian Pierre-Louis has a weekly online Blog Talk Radio show called Fieldstone Common (and a blog with that name too).  Her show on Thursday, 22 August at 1 p.m. EDT (12 noon CDT, 11 a.m. MDT, 10 a.m. PDT) interviews author James Redfearn about his book The 1919 Boston Police Strike.  The radio shows are archived and can be heard for free at any time.  Last week's show was "Why Baseball Matters" with Joanne Hulbert and David Lambert.

12)  A genealogy funny for my readers (and so there will be a graphic when this post is published):



I think I need a sign like that!

The URL for this post is:  http://www.geneamusings.com/2013/08/this-weeks-genealogy-eclectica-for.html

Copyright (c) 2013, Randall J. Seaver

2 comments:

David Warner said...

I am very thankful to the author to write this fruitful information.It is worth sharing for other users.Thanks once again

David Warner said...

I am very thankful to the author to write this fruitful information.It is worth sharing for other users.Thanks once again
Abmp3 UK proxy