Thursday, July 17, 2014

FamilySearch Worldwide Indexing Event is July 20-21

FamilySearch recently announced a 24-hour Worldwide Indexing Event in Join the Worldwide Indexing Event to be held Sunday July 20 to Monday, July 21, beginning at 6 p.m. Mountain Daylight Time (8 p.m. Eastern, 7 p.m. Central, 5 p.m. Pacific, midnight CUT on 21 July).

The goal is to have 50,000 indexers and arbitrators submit at least one batch of indexed records in the 24-hour period.

In addition, DearMYRTLE is hosting a Google+ Hangout On Air called a GeneaSleepOver in order to support this event.  See DearMYRTLE's GeneaSleepOver: woirldwide Indexing Project.

Read DearMYRTLE's blog post that describes it.  Prepare for it by reading DearMYRTLE's Prepping for the GeneaSleepOver post also.

To participate in the Indexing Project and the GeneaSleepOver, DearMYRTLE suggests:

  • Register with FamilySearch Indexing at: 
  • Commit to submitting at least one batch during the 24-hour period of the event.
  • JOIN the panel, VIEW and COMMENT during DearMYRTLE's GeneaSleepover.

  • There are directions to participate in, or just view, the GeneaSleepOver on DearMYRTLE's blog.

    I look forward to participating in the Indexing, but may not be able to participate in the Hangout On Air because my granddaughters are visiting us on these days.

    Copyyright (c) 2014, Randall J. Seaver

    No comments: