Friday, July 15, 2011

Follow Friday - Weekend Genealogy Fun

...
Here are my choices for Genealogy Fun this weekend:

1)  Listen to Geneabloggers Radio tonight (Friday night, 10 p.m. ET, 9 p.m. CT, 8 p.m. MT and 7 p.m. PT) hosted by DearMYRTLE.  The topic is "Cool Ideas for Involving Youth in Genealogy."  The guests are:

Drusilla Pair “Professor Dru” of the Find Your Folks blog discussing a youth historical research project she just completed in Newport News, Virginia;
Nicka Smith of the Atlas Family blog who has been teaching high school students in Alameda County, California, how to trace their family histories;
Jari Honora of Bayou Roots, a college student who will share with us his experience as a young genealogist/family historian who began researching when he was about 10 years of age;
Elyse Doerflinger of Elyse’s Genealogy Blog, who will also share her experience as a young genealogist/family historian.

2)  Listen to the FGS My Society radio show on Saturday (2 p.m. ET, 1 p.m. CT, 12 noon MT, 11 a.m. PT) hosted by Drew Smith.  The topic is "Who Do You Think You Are? – Events for Genealogy Societies."  The guests include:

Rebecca M. Hill, Head Librarian, Rutherford B. Hayes Presidential Center in Fremont, OH about a local version of Who Do You Think You Are? event recently held at the Center.
*  FGS 2011 Conference Speaker of the Week, Paula Stuart-Warren about her upcoming presentations at the conference in Springfield, Illinois this September.

3)  Respond to my Saturday Night Genealogy Fun challenge, posted on www.geneamusings.com soon after 12 noon Pacific time (that's 1900 GMT for those who understand time zones). 

4)  Go to a local genealogical society program, or go to a library or repository with genealogical resources.  I'm planning on going to the Chula Vista Genealogical Society workshop at 1 p.m. on Saturday at the Bonita-Sunnyside Library (4375 Bonita Road), where Mary Van Orsdol will present "Genealogy Research at the Carlsbad Library."

5)  Do you still have material in your "genealogy piles" that needs to be added to your genealogy software program?  I do, and hope to be able to burn an inch off my stack by entering data, notes and sources into my database.

6)  Enjoy your family!  We have our daughter's family coming on Saturday.  We will have the two granddaughters (ages 3 and 6) for the week while their parents take an Alaskan cruise.  Everybody will be making family history memories!

1 comment:

Lisa Suzanne Gorrell said...

I'm heading to hear Ron Arons on "Mapping Madness" at the California Genealogical Society & Library on July 16, 1pm – 4pm. I love maps!!!